Society for Music Perception and Cognition

SMPC Committees

The Society for Music Perception and Cognition standing committees aid in carrying out the regular business of the organization. Responsibilities for each committee are outlined by section 7 of the SMPC bylaws (click to open PDF). The committees consist of a chair and 2 or more members appointed for 1-2 years by the SMPC President in consultation with SMPC Board

Standing committees include: 

Anti-Racism & Equity Committee (new window)
Mentorship Committee (new window)
• SMPC conference: Program and local arrangements committees (new window)
Board Nominating Committee

objectives of SMPC

Board Nominating Committee

Aim: The Nominating Committee, which shall review nominations and recommend candidates to stand for all positions on the Board of Directors, based on merit and on contributions to the field. 

2023 Election Members: 

• Chair: Michael Schutz
• Stefanie Acevedo, Stephen Van Hedger, Dominique Vuvan (SMPC Secretary)

December 2023 - Election Results (Google Docs PDF)
November 2021 - Election Results (PDF)

Qualifications and duties for the open positions are listed in the bylaws (PDF). Questions can be directed to the current Board Secretary ( or the Nominations Committee Chair (


objectives of SMPC